Al Nami and Dr Jafar win the Independence Day Cup – News


Jaffar took 14 shots and shot a big 40 without a scoring worse than a 5 on any hole

Namir Al Nami (2) and Dr Ahmad Jaffar (15) scored 17 and 21 points respectively to win the gross and net trophies in the inaugural Independence Day Cup held at the Sharjah Golf & Shooting Club today ( Saturday).

A full field of 52 players participated in this 9-hole event, members and non-members of the SGSC, held to celebrate the independence days of Pakistan and India.

Al Nami shot the equivalent of a one over gross par 37 on the 3,599 yard Black Tee course, consisting of 8 pars and a 5 bogey on the 9th hole, starting on hole 6A.

Jaffar received 14 hits and shot a big 40 without a scoring worse than a 5 on any hole.

The chairman of the tournament organizing committee, Professor Adil Matin, chairman of WeTel TV, said during the awards ceremony: “We thank all the players and sponsors for supporting this important day on the Indian and Pakistani calendars. .

We had a great day of golf with great performance but unfortunately no one took home today’s star award, the BMW 208i Gran Coupé backed by BMW AGMC, offered for the first hole in one shot of hole 8. ‘

Sam McLaren, Director of Golf at SGSC, said: “On behalf of the Sharjah Golf & Shooting Club, we thank WeTel TV for hosting this inaugural event and look forward to hosting more of their planned future events.

The tournament format was Individual Stableford with 95% handicap allowance of the player’s Handicap Index.

Thanks were sent to all tournament sponsors; WeTel TV, Lama Group & Platinum Entertainment, Indemnity Insurance Brokers, Grand Store, Orient Travel, Noor Opticals, Nest Academy and BMW AGMC.


Raw Champion: Namir Al Nami 17pts

2nd raw place: Moussa Shannah 16pts

3rd raw place: Amiya Ranjan 14 pts

Net champion: Dr Ahmad Jaffar 21pts

2nd place net: Mujahid Siddique 19pts

3rd place net: Arnel Valencia 18pts

Div A (Scr – 12) 1st place: Misbah Ahmad 17pts

Div A (Scr – 12) 2nd place: Chris Andrews 16pts

Div B (13 and over) 1st place: Gurbax Singh 17pts

Div B (13 and over) 2nd place: Mohammad Shafiq 17pts

1st place in the unofficial Handicap division: Maria Krasco 21pts

Source link

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.